A Drunken Forest, is a stand of black spruce and other trees of the northern subarctic taiga forests which are displaced from their normal vertical alignment due to melting permafrost or from new surface heaving from new permafrost aggradation. The trees of a Drunken Forest tend to lean on one another.


Drunken Forest is also a band of Yellowknife musicians who lean on one another for friendship and sound. They love to share their eclectic rootsy tunes. Drunken Forest is Kevin Hodgins (guitar, mandolin, vocals), Ewan Affleck (guitar, vocals), Kathryn Oraas (fiddle, vocals), John Sauve (drums), Pete Harding (Bass), Shauna Morgan (piano), Bill Gilday (Trombone), and Andy Sarty (Saxophone).